Goosewell Academy

Using Everyone's Talents.

Goosewell Primary Academy

Goosewell Road




Tel: 01752 482960


Google Search Link All website content copyright © Goosewell Academy

Reach South Academy Trust

c/o UTC Plymouth

Park Avenue




Tel: 01752 987 060

Contact Us

Academy Trust

Social Media

The School Governors have general responsibility for the effective management of the school acting within the framework set by national legislation and Local Authority policies. They are involved in deciding what is taught, setting standards of behaviour, monitoring and challenging performance, interviewing and selecting staff and deciding how the school budget is spent. The Headteacher, appointed by and accountable to the Governing Body, takes detailed decisions of the day-to-day running of the school. The Headteacher takes into account the Governing Body’s policies in carrying out his duties, and discusses all areas of school life with the Governors, who offer challenge, support and guidance.

In January 2016 we moved to having nine Full Governing Body meetings per year, thereby replacing the sub-committee system, in order to ensure that all Governors are fully informed of and have the opportunity to contribute to all aspects of School Governance.

Click Here to read The Role of the Governing Body.

Members of the Governing Body can be contacted via:                                        

g Body as at Spring 2015 are:

Governing Body

Mr James Gentile

Head Teacher

Members of the Governing Body

All our Governors are linked to a year group, which they follow as they move up through the school.  This gives us a clear picture of progress and enables us to act as year group champions and a contact point for parents.  We therefore share responsibility for core subjects across the school.

Jo Penk

Mrs Jo Penk

Parent Support Advisor

Please click on the Governors name or profile picture for more information.

Susan Ballantyne

Mrs Susan Ballantyne

Reach South Appointed Governor

Vice-Chair Full Governing Body

Maria Manning

Mrs Maria Manning

Reach South Appointed Governor

Chair Full Governing Body

Kirsty King

Mrs Kirsty King

Staff Governor

SEN Governor

Lizaine Arnold,  Co-opted.  End of term of office  17/10/2015

Alison Dowling, Co-opted. Term of Office 9/2/2012 – 8/2/2016

Mark Bradley, Co-opted. End of term of office  23/03/2016

Zoe May, Staff Governor. Term of Office 1/9/2012 – 31/08/2016

Tina Ponsford

Mrs Tina Ponsford

Staff Governor

Governors who have left during 2016-2017

Ruth Kent, Associate Member of the Governing Body. Retired May 2017

Alexandra, Miranda Vice-Chair Full Governing Body and Parent Governor. Term of Office 16/07/2013 – 15/07/2017

Mike Brown, Parent Governor and Health & Safety Governor. Term of Office 16/07/2013 – 15/07/2017

Governors who have left during 2015-2016

Governors who have left during 2014-2015

Angela Faithfull, Co-opted. End of term of office  4/12/2014

Susan Hargrove, Local Authority. Deceased  April 2015

Angela Jenkins

Mrs Angela Jenkins

Co-Opted Governor

Jodie Greaves

Mrs Jodie Greaves

Parent Governor

Wendy Nicholas

Mrs Wendy Nicholas

Parent Governor

Governors who have left during 2017-2018

Nigel Jackson, Reach South Appointed Governor. Retired April 2018

Kerry Libby, Reach South Appointed Governor and Safeguarding Governor. Retired April 2018

Associate Members of the Governing Body

Associate Members play an important supporting role to the Governing Body but have no voting rights.

Governors who have left during 2018-2019

Reverend Darren Middleton, Co-Opted Governor. Retired December 2018

Upcoming Governor meetings

Thursday 14th March 6 - 8pm

Thursday 9th May 6 - 8pm

Thursday 18th July 8 - 10am